Final Ideas Progression .08 – Unit 10

Originally I was going to stitch the words and then take inspiration from Diane Meyer and cross stitch the faces as a way to blur out the people. From practicing it, I have realised how difficult it was and it wasn’t very easy on the type of paper that I was using so I have decided to take inspiration from Jonny Briggs and scratch out the faces using scissors and looking that my images, I think that it has worked very well. I have done this as I think that it’s a contrast to the stitching as the stitching is very neat where as the scratching out is messy and some people would say that it is ruining the photos but I think that the two types of stitching would have looked too neat and ‘perfect’. another reason why I’m including the scratching, is because it could be a way that the terrorist points out either who they have targeted or who they want to target. Also with all of these images, I had originally decided that I was using these as a practice but I think that they have all come out very well and I am using them as my final pieces. If I was to do this again I probably do the cross stitching to see what it would look like but I wasn’t too keen on it myself as it was never going to look the best.

Adventure

There are a couple of places that have ripped when I have stitched the words but I don’t think that it is very noticeable. I like the effect that the scratching out of the faces has given. If I was to do this again I probably would make sure that none of the holes ripped together and I would make sure that the thread is tight everywhere, however I don’t think that this is very noticeable and I think that it looks okay.

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 09.58.33

Criminals

With this image, none of the holes ripped and my thread was tight the whole way through so you can’t see the black outline underneath the stitching. I like this one because the scratches are not very big. If I was to do this again, I wouldn’t change anything as everything went well.

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 09.58.11

Vulnerable

For this image, I changed the thread all the way through the word so that it would then blend in with the picture. I like this image because I have matched the colour of the thread to the picture and because of this, it hasn’t made it stand out as much if it was to be all one colour. If I was to do this again, I would try to match some of the colours up better as I find the green very bright compared to the green in the image.

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 09.58.48

Belief

For this image, I have uses two different colours to blend into the background again. I like this image because I have changed the colour of the threads but I also like that for some of the scratches, I haven’t scratched out the whole face so it has left little bits of colour and I think this has worked well. If I was to do this again, I would maybe try to use a better photo with more faces in it as I found it hard to find people who were walking towards me. I would also try and keep the thread tight as you can see some of the black outline.

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 09.59.13

Leave a comment